The Ryder Cup is a three-day men’s golf competition that was established in 1927.

This competition is between the top 9 players from Europe and the top 9 players from the United States. This event happens every two years. The Ryder Cup is named after the English businessman Samuel Ryder who donated the trophy that each team takes home if they win that year. The Ryder Cup remains an exception in the world of professional sports because it does not offer any prize money to the contestants. USA finished with 17 points, while Europe finished with 11 points.

This year Europe had the following players:

  • Rory Mcilroy
  • Henrik Stenson
  • Thomas Pieters
  • Justin Rose
  • Rafa Cabrera Bello
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Andy Sullivan
  • Martin Kaymer
  • Lee Westwood

And the United States had the following players:

  • Jordan Spieth
  • Patrick Reed
  • B. Holmes
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Jimmy Walker
  • Phil Mickelson
  • Zach Johnson
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Matt Kuchar

This year it took place on September 27-October 2, 2016 at the Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minnesota. The next Ryder Cup will be at the Albatros Course at Le Golf National in Paris, France on September 28 to 30, 2018.